HomeWhat's A CED?


Circuit Engineering Districts

In 1997 Circuit Engineering Districts (CED) were provided by law under Title 69 § 687.1, later amended in 1998. The law allows counties to come together as a cooperative and provide efficiencies that are not available to an individual county. The Districts act as a political subdivision of the counties. The Association of County Commissioners of Oklahoma (ACCO) hired staff to implement the program with funding provided through the State Auditor and Inspector’s office. Today the Oklahoma Cooperative Circuit Engineering Districts Board (OCCEDB) and CED’s are funded through state and county funds.

The state is divided into eight geographical areas, districts, where each county designates one County Commissioner to serve on the CED Board. The Districts mirror the same boundaries as the ACCO districts. The CED Board elects its own officers.


The Presidents of each CED are the members of the OCCEDB. This board has hired staff to handle statewide transportation issues and manage two funds, the Circuit Engineering District and the Emergency and Transportation Revolving funds.